NEW!

Once a Man Indulges

A fast-paced, detective story in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, James M. Cain and L.A. Confidential, Once A Man Indulges is a page-turning 1940's mystery with a provocative femme fatale, murderous mobsters and Nazi sympathizers.

5 Star"An exhilarating and fun read!" — Amazon Review

Haunted by experiences he had as a Marine Corps fighter pilot, a persistent injury and a litany of self-doubt, Harry Thorpe is making ends meet as a private detective in 1949 Denver, specializing in cases that typically involve stolen goods and cheating spouses. All that changes when the Mighty Marquand, a national hero and Harry’s overbearing flying mentor, shows up and slaps a crisp thousand dollar bill on the desk. Marquand needs Harry to get at the source of some threatening letters – at any cost.

At every turn and twist, Harry finds he must juggle his loyalty to the imperious Marquand with his own better judgement, while also balancing a tenuous friendship with a persistent cop named Greenberg. When the investigation thrusts Harry into the underworld, he is confronted by Johnny Two-Nose, an explosive mob enforcer who vies to steer every step ahead. Harry must make a series of decisions that leave him reeling as he encounters unpredictable mobsters, secretive Nazi sympathizers and a woman he wants to love, but is not sure he can trust.

This spiraling detective noir explores addiction and post-traumatic stress through the eyes of a man as he comes to terms with love, loyalty and deceit. It raises the question; how far will one man go to be true to himself?

Read the prologue »

AMAZON REVIEWS FOR ONCE A MAN INDULGES:
5 Star"Highly entertaining with twists and turns and an unpredictable finish."
5 Star "One of those books that you can't put down but you don't want to finish."
5 Star"You won't be able to put it down!"
5 Star "Outstanding read. Kelsey has a strong writing style that is polished, clear and compelling."

Cuurently available in both Kindle and Paperback format.


JOIN THE EMAIL LIST
Sign up to receive updates about upcoming books
, including excerpts, cover reveals and more.

When writing a mystery I follow a strict outline, since it is absolutely necessary to hit certain milestones along the way. With suspense I allow whims to take flight and carry the story to a preordained finish.
— Tony Kelsey


Mountain Sounds

COMING 2022

 


Coming Soon...

Mountain Sounds

Mabel Dennison disappears in the middle of the night while her husband Lester is masturbating in the woods. Del O'Sullivan, a semi-retired six-day bicycle racer, can't seem to shake the horror of the dead German in his trench. The beautiful Leah is running from her own secrets. But, then again, so is everyone in this often zany and mostly mysterious mountain town in 1950's Colorado.


Tony KelseyAbout Tony

Marketing / Brand Strategist · Author

Tony Kelsey is Vice President of Marketing for Pactimo, a premier cycling apparel brand headquartered in Denver, Colorado. He's the recipient of several awards for UI design and was VP of Global Creative for an international, $1B I.T. consultancy where he oversaw web and brand strategy. Prior to that, Tony served 12-years in the US Marine Corps as a combat air controller, attending the prestigious Navy Fighter Weapons School (aka TOP GUN). He is a summa cum laude graduate in political science and history from the University of Colorado. In addition to his love for cycling and traveling the world with his wife Julie, he is currently working on his next novel.

Linkedin · Twitter · Facebook · Email Tony


©2021 Tony Kelsey - All Rights Reserved. Photo by Adam Pawlikiewicz